Adventures in Thrifting

Like most young married couples in their early 20’s, Clay and I furnished our first home together (a 700 square foot apartment on the banks of Lake Ontario) on a tight budget. I remember tearing pages out of catalogues that would arrive in the mail and then browse the aisles of TJ Maxx and Walmart (the closest city didn’t even have a Target at that time) using the overpriced furniture and decor featured as inspiration. Almost 15 years later, I still appreciate Pottery Barn as much as the next suburban SUV-driving mom but I only occasionally will purchase items from there – and when I do, they are very much marked down!

If you walk through our home, you will find a hodge-podge of new, hand-me-down, and thrifted furniture and decor. I love a good thrift store (who doesn’t) and one of my favorites just happens to be near our daughter’s preschool so I always manage to pop in every week or so to see what is new prior to picking her up.

It is actually a consignment/thrift store so there is always a wide spectrum of pieces and price-points. However, there are always a lot of color-coded markdowns and deals to be had. Iย loved this large rooster tin plate – not for $15 though. It’d look great on a wall. I’m going to see if it sticks around long enough to be marked down. Then it will be mine (…evil cackle…).

I have no need for a telephone chair (we don’t even have a landline) but I’m a sucker for these types of furniture pieces that tell the story of a different time.

I couldn’t stop looking at this clown.

And it couldn’t stop looking at me.

At $5.00, this creepy topless boy statue was a steal!

Are thrift stores where broaches go to die? Perhaps we should have a moment of silence for the wicker rocking chair broach above – I can’t image a place or time where one would say, “I know!!! I’ll wear my wicker rocking chair broach – it’d be perfect!

I wrote a thrifted dress to my senior-year prom. It did not look like this. Although, I kind of wish it did. As they say, the bigger the bow on your hip, the closer you are to God.

You know, there aren’t enough belts available to the general public that can double as a WWE Championship prize. Did I say that right? I know absolutely nothing about pro-wrestling other than the fact that I am supremely creeped out by men who can’t put their arms down against their sides.

I’m always on the prowl for thrift stores beyond Goodwill and Salvation Army. I haven’t found anything in the DC metro area that rivals the West Bottoms neighborhood in Kansas City but I’m not giving up hope. After all, part of the allure of thrifting is the hunt.

One thought on “Adventures in Thrifting”

Leave a Reply

